Tzolkin Trecena Notes – 1 Night (Akbal)

Day 183 of the 260 Day Tzolkin

March 10, 2010

Year Bearer:  11 Manik



Trecenas are thirteen-day periods in the Tzolkin. Each Trecena starts with the Number 1, but with a different Day Glyph. As a wave of the Thirteen Heavens, the underlying energy is governed by the
First Day Glyph of the Trecena and influences all thirteen successive Day Glyphs. Being aware of the predominant energy of the First Day of the Trecena, we can align our intentions with that energy
and allow our goals to manifest.


This Trecena starts with 1 Akbal (Night/Hearth) – Introspective Dreamtime, Darkness, Stillness,
Temple , Travel the Void Within to Birth New Ideas, Travel the Underworld in Search
of Wisdom.


According to the Popol Vuh (the Maya creation legend), two brothers (Hero Twins) travel to the Underworld where they are challenged by the Lords of Darkness to a game of handball. They spend several nights in different houses of the Underworld where they are challenged with magical tests.
They eventually win the handball game but due to trickery of the Lords of Death, they are ritually
slain - only to return to life again. The Maya believed that the Underworld or House of Darkness
was the place where we descend to face our fears and experience death of the ego and its rebirth
into another form. The daysign Akbal represents the Underworld or House of Darkness.


Night - Sun sign glyph
2006 Judith Ann Griffith


Another Maya name for this sign was Utoan, meaning heart. The Aztec deity associated with Akbal
was Tepeyollotl “Heart of the Mountain.” This deity was the Guardian of Caves and was also known
as the Earth Father or Lord of Animals. His voice of thunder echoing in the caves and mountains was associated with drums. Akbal is also known as the Guardian of Dawn and the Guardian of Dusk, the magical transition periods when darkness becomes daylight and daylight becomes darkness.


Another representation of the Trecena is that of a creative wave beginning at 1 and ending at 13, with the numbers 6, 7 and 8 representing the crest of the wave. The crest could be interpreted as a strong influential energy, although the underlying influence on the Trecena would still rest in the beginning.
In this Trecena, the crest falls on 6 Lamat (Rabbit/Venus), 7 Muluc (Water) and 8 Oc (Dog).  Lamat is also known as Venus which symbolically represents the cycle of death and rebirth to the Maya. Venus shines as the evening star, disappears and then reappears as the morning star. Muluc represents water
as a sacred natural force giving life or taking it away. Oc is the energy of Dog, faithful companion who carries the torch lighting the pathway through the Underworld. As we search for inner wisdom, know that the fire of faith guides us through the darkness in order to rebirth our souls into the light.


As we journey through each day of this Trecena: 


1 Akbal (Night/Hearth)           3/10/10           

2 Kan (Lizard)                          3/11/10

3 Chicchan (Serpent)               3/12/10

4 Cimi (Death)                        3/13/10

5 Manik (Deer)                        3/14/10

6 Lamat (Rabbit)                     3/15/10

7 Muluc (Water)                      3/16/10

8 Oc (Dog)                              3/17/10

9 Chuen (Monkey)                  3/18/10

10 Eb (Road)                           3/19/10           

11 Ben (Reed)                          3/20/10

12 Ix (Jaguar)                           3/21/10

13 Men (Eagle)                        3/22/10


Utilize the energy of Akbal to descend into your inner darkness, release your fears and allow your soul to be reborn.




***For a list of all 20 Mayan Sun Signs - click here ***

In Lak’ech,

William and Viola

©2009 William and Viola Welsch